“Real-life” styles of the Rich and the Famous

I am going to make a not-so-bold guess that you, my valued reader, have been in a supermarket at some point. If you haven’t because you have enough money to employ someone to do it for you, I am slightly envious. If you have been in a supermarket you will probably have also seen the numerous tabloids on the impulse racks next to the register (so if you’re someone who leaves without paying you may not know what I’m talking about, no judgement).

This week in class we were asked to blog about a medium that presents real-life issues. I chose tabloids because the lives of celebrities are played out in front of us all like a soap-opera that’s on all the time and never ends. During my half-hour trip to Woolies over the weekend, I found out that Kim Kardashian is being called fat, Lindsay Lohan is in trouble with the law (again), Delta Goodrem and Seal are “in love”, a contestant off My Kitchen Rules “used” to be gay and Joel Madden and Nicole Richie are expecting twins, all without actually opening a magazine.

In the 5 minutes I was waiting in line I was presented with issues of eating disorders, sexuality struggles, and relationships.

Don’t get me wrong, I have no illusion that most of what is written in tabloids is a fabrication to sell more copies but it was still interesting to consider the fact that we vicariously face these things every day, through celebrities that we admire or dislike. There are whole websites dedicated to giving people a forum to voice their opinions on people they’ve never met, let alone know.

The only positive I can gauge from this type of media (because I’d like to become a proper journalist with morals and ethics) is that it does bring issues real people are facing to the forefront of the mediated sphere and allows people to discuss them in the less-embarrassing context of it being a “celebrity’s problem”.

More, more more?

http://womansday.ninemsn.com.au/ (Woman’s Day website)

http://www.selfgrowth.com/articles/celebrities-why-are-some-people-obsessed-with-celebrities (article discussing obsession with celebrity)

One thought on ““Real-life” styles of the Rich and the Famous

  1. Love this! So true; once leaving the supermarket, I feel up to date and like I know whats happening with the celebrities around the world without even opening the tabloids and without even wanting to know what is happening with them!! Love this blog!

    Like

Leave a Reply

